Science Declaration

The Science Declaration is a call to all nations, societies and organizations to devote more resources to the advancement of science and technology.

Make Science Not War

We, the signatories, are people of different national origins, creeds and convictions.

We all firmly believe that human progress is deeply linked to further advances in science and technology. We are truly convinced that science is a force for good which enables us to solve many of mankind’s most pressing challenges. We believe that huge opportunities will arise from future science and technology efforts. Yet we are also very well aware of the responsibility and accountability we bear for the new technologies that are realized.

We call on all nations, societies and organizations to devote more resources to the advancement of science and technology. We encourage the international community to join forces in battling debilitating diseases, ensuring sufficient food for a growing world population, stopping the destruction of our environment, and engaging in joint endeavors to elucidate the secrets this fascinating universe holds.

Nothing shall be impossible.

The goal is to collect 1 million signatures. The declaration with that support will then be widely published and brought to the attention of governments and relevant decision making bodies all over the world. The aim is to shape public opinion, to create a global movement resulting in a boost for research and development, in an increased attraction of bright young talents to science and technology and in general in an optimistic, utopian outlook to ensure the technologies required for a bright and sustainable future are made available in time.

This declaration was rolled-out as Darmstadt Science Declaration during the Curious2018 Future Insight Conference and  is going around the world reaching all major cities:

Science Declaration around the world

The Science Declaration was recently described in the Angewandte Chemie                 (article in English here).

Examples of individuals that signed the Science Declaration:

Avram Hershko, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2004

Belén Garijo, Chair of the Executive Board and CEO of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany 2021

Bernard L. Feringa, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2016

Bruce Beutler, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2011

Craig Venter, Founder, Chairman and CEO J. Craig Venter Institute

Daniel Zajfman, President Weizmann Institute of Sciences

Emmanuelle Charpentier, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2020

Erik Brynjolfsson, Director MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy, Best Selling Author – Race Against the Machine

Frances H. Arnold, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2018

Fraser Stoddart, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2016

George M. Church, Professor at Harvard & MIT, 2021

Harald zur Hausen, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2008

James Rothman, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2013

Jean-Marie Lehn, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1987

Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2016

Joachim Frank, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2017

Jochen Partsch, Oberbürgermeister Darmstadt

Karl-Ludwig Kley, Chairman Supervisory Board E.ON, Lufthansa and Deputy Chairman Supervisory Board BMW

Katalin Kariko, Senior Vice President RNA Protein Replacement Therapies BioNTech AG, 2021

Louis J. Ignarro, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1998

Matthew Might, former White House Strategist Precision Medicine Initiative

Peter Doherty, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1996

Richard J. Roberts, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1993

Rudolf Scharping, former German Federal Minister of Defence

Stefan Oschmann, former Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO of Merck

Tanja Brühl, President TU Darmstadt

Thomas Reiter, Astronaut

Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman Munich Security Conference Foundation

Currently, >1000 signatories.


“The Science Declaration is a global call to action to devote more resources to the advancement of science & technology. This will enable humanity to solve the challenges of today and to realize the dreams of a better tomorrow. Everybody is cordially invited to sign this declaration now.

Make Science Not War.”

Conference Lead: Dr. Ulrich Betz,                  Vice President Innovation, Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany .